Self Deception is an Ugly Thing

The first principle is that you must not fool yourself and you are the easiest person to fool.

~Richard P Feynman

Every once in awhile I get into a kind of raiding funk where I can’t seem to find myself getting into the fights. My DPS is usually passable, but it always drops significantly. This past weekend, though I didn’t raid Friday, Neb needed me both Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

Saturday I went on Mercyrose, they needed my shackles. That’s when I was introduced to two hunters, neither of them in the guild, which is no big deal, and both of them somewhat below par. Now let me say I am not an elitest, I understand that sometimes you just can’t get your head in the game which will drop your DPS output quite a bit. I’ve been there, I’m pretty sure that most of us are at one point. I mentioned it to Neb, who said that they are usually much better, so I left it be.

Sunday, I brought my hunter, and still just wasn’t in the game. My DPS stayed up, but I just couldn’t get myself to enjoy it. We tried at Prince for 4 hours and our Infernal placement sucked big time. After four long hours filled with AFK’s and joking around, we finally called it.

Monday we went again, once again, Yem was my weapon of choice. Both hunter’s raided with us, though it as at separate times. One of them brought their DPS up greatly while she was in the raid, the other, well… Not so much. Some of the officers discussed it after the raid and someone mentioned getting her some shot macros so that she could up her DPS. While I understand the reasoning for shot macros and things like that, I personally feel that in order to truly learn a class, you have to do it without macros and mods. Once you know your class’ mechanics, then if you need mods or macros, by all means, you should use them. But you have to know your class. People who use mods or macros before they hone their own technique aren’t being true to themselves. Some people try to argue that some things just can’t be done without these mods, like healing a 25 man. I have it on good source that there is more then one healer who heals not only 10 mans, but 25 and did 40 back in the Pre-BC days, topping the charts who have never used healbot, or anything like that. What’s my source? I saw it with my own eyes.

If you ask me, using a mod and calling yourself a bad ass healer because you’re usually one of the top healers is the same as ordering food from a fancy restaurant to-go, bringing it home and reheating it and referring to yourself as an expert chef. You’re not doing anything except push a few buttons.

Leave a Reply

