Controversy and YOU!

I’m a controversial figure. My friends either dislike me or hate me.
~Toni Morrison

The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
~Martin Luther King Jr.

Follow the path of the unsafe, independent thinker. Expose your ideas to the danger of controversy. Speak your mind and fear less the label of “crackpot” than the stigma of conformity.
~Thomas Watson

I suppose I’ve proven my point with the quotes. I get along pretty well with controversy. I’ve had enough of it in my life to know how to handle it and to not be afraid of it. Between being pagan, being African-American, being a young mother, being a single mother, being a gamer, being from the hood but still wanting to make something of myself, I couldn’t get away from controversy growing up.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not the kind of person who purposely starts controversy or drama, but I sure as hell don’t shy away from it. I try not to offend others with things I say or do, but if the fact that I think a shaman is useful in a raid no matter their spec pisses you off, then you know what? Up yours. If the fact that I don’t bow down and say “Oh yes mighty raid leader, I will heal the raid, though I have no heal set and I’m shadow spec” Gets your knickers twisted, bite me. (I do, actually have a heal set, and feel that all raiding priests should, just in case something goes down and you need to re-spec.)

I don’t care if you feel that every priest in the world should be disc/holy and ready to heal for the rest of their life. I feel that people should be allowed to choose their spec, since they leveled that character, they are paying for that character, and they are the ones who are playing that character. I don’t care if you think I am going to hell because I’m not the same religion as you. I happen to be pagan, and you know what’s nice? I don’t believe in hell, or the devil, but I do know that if you are Christian or Catholic, the bible tells you it is not your place to judge others. So put that in a pipe and smoke it!

I don’t mind a little bit of debate, but try, just try to remember that when you start a debate, you’ve got about || much of chance to change the other person’s mind. And if I’m the other person… You’re SOL, because being a mother taught me how to be stubborn as shit!

Blog Azeroth

Leave a Reply

